Testimonials and Reviews

Read what our past adventurers have to say about the VeloRoo way.

Review us on TripAdvisor

 

How does gourmet food, French wine and cycling through some amazingly beautiful French countryside sound for a holiday?
Well if you are looking for an authentic French cycling trip, Trish and I have just finished our third cycling adventure in the south of France with VéloRoo and what a fantastic trip it was. Easy access to the region by train from Barcelona or Paris and from there, Julia and Steve look after everything including; pick up from Beziers train station, all your food, your bike, cycling kit, sensational cycling and outstanding accommodation.
This area of France also provides easy access to other French regions including Provence, Bordeaux and the French Riviera as well as the Ligurian coast of Italy and Barcelona and the Costa Brava in Spain.
Our three trips with VéloRoo include a ten day “Tour de France” adventure, a week of cycling in the Languedoc around St Genies de Fontedit and six days riding all the iconic Pyrenees mountain climbs that you watch every year when the “Tour” is being televised on SBS.
But if you don’t feel the urge to ride hills or your partner is a non-rider, do not concern yourself. Steve, who is a qualified Australian cycling coach, caters to all levels of fitness and Julia organises everything else down to the last detail including; local site seeing, local wine tasting, visiting local village markets and even a water colour painting class if that’s what you would like.
We have stayed in the area for additional days both before and after our cycling trips and with Julia and Steve’s local knowledge we hired a car for about fifty dollars a day and easily drove around the area soaking up amazing scenery, eating in quality restaurants and visiting historic towns like Montpellier and Avignon.
VéloRoo’s local knowledge make each day unforgettable and these guys are passionate about making sure you have the most authentic experience you can manage, both on and off the bike.
Trish and I have travelled to nearly 50 countries now and have experienced many different standards on our travels. I can honestly say, that the three trips we have done with VéloRoo have been three of our best.

Took Iconic Climbs Pyrénées Challenge in October 2018

We were welcomed off the train by Julia & Steve and made to feel relaxed and well looked after from the very beginning. B&B VeloRoo chose for our stay was outstanding with the most yummy breakfasts & on occasion dinner. Made us feel like we were visiting old friends. The bikes were Cannondale and in very good condition. I needed my own seat fitted and some other changes nothing was to much trouble for Steve who not only was our ride leader but also a great bike mechanic. Our ride kits were cleaned daily by Julia whom also had the Sag Wagon ready if any of us needed a breather. The rides were picturesque with interesting facts thrown in along the way. The trips are tailored to each riders skills so no problem recommending this tour to all levels. We chose the wine and cheese tour, the meals were gourmet and the wine lovely and plenty. Would not hesitate in recommending VeloRoo to anyone wanting a well organised ride with the comforts of life added in.

Took South of France Cycling Tour in Sept 2018

I completed a 9 day cycling trip with Steve and Julia in September. It exceeded all my expectations - cycling, food, hospitality, personalised service, attention to detail - the full French experience. I highly recommend the South of France Vendange tour, especially during grape harvesting season (!). We were also able to organise added extras on either end of the tour (Mediterranean border crossing from Spain to France) and a summit of iconic Mt Ventoux. Steve and Julia go above and beyond and are great company. Lots of thoughtful gestures along the way. Steve will even serenade you with 80s songs if that helps you on the ascents. I am already planning the next trip with VeloRoo.

Took South of France Cycling Tour in Sept 2018

Did the South of France Vendange tour with a customised ride before (Mediterranean coast) and after (Mt Ventoux), which Steve and Julia arranged for us. Steve has some great routes off the beaten track with Julia and their dog Chien Noir nearby in the support car. The bikes were good quality and well maintained, perfect for both the rural back roads as well as the HC climbs. Catering was excellent - lucky we were riding to work off those calories as the food and wine were awesome - whether dinner at home/in the B&B or out in a restaurant. Lunches consisted of wholesome French restaurant meals or gourmet picnic out and about. Steve makes sure everyone finishes the ride whether with motivating songs riding alongside or useful tips to conserve energy and to get the best out of the bike. There were also many little surprises along the way. Looking forward planning my next trip with Veloroo!

Took South of France Cycling Tour in Sept 2018

Had a great cycling experience around St Genies de Fontedit with Steve and Julia, the vendange tour I can recommend to any rider from any where. They are great hosts with plenty of local knowledge and knowledge of food and wine. The arranged accommodation was fantastic. The bikes are excellent to ride and would recommend for hiring if desired. The riding kit provided by Veloroo was excellent and all required to bring was riding shoes and pedals. For me this vendange tour was a 6 out of 5. The group dynamics (7 people)was great and made 8 new friends including Steve and Julia.

Took South of France Cycling Tour in Sept 2018

The full package and the most generous of hosts for our first ever cycling tour. Extremely knowledgeable, friendly and professional. The bikes are top notch and immaculately maintained. The rides were wonderful and well adjusted to our experience, interests and fitness, with helpful coaching and guidance from Steve. The scenery was amazing - only bettered by the food and wine which was superb! Julia and Steve - thanks for the singing and the laughs. Hope to be back soon.

Took South of France Cycling Tour in May 2018

Live, laugh, ride ... et manger. I love to ride, I love to laugh and I love to eat. This was a week of living!! Every ride was spectacular. The scenery was amazing. Julia and Steve assisted in an awesome week of experiencing all the magnificent aspects of riding in France. Their local knowledge made the difference to ensure we had an exceptional experience. Merci beaucoup mes amis!

Took South of France Cycling Tour in July 2017

VeloRoo cycling in the Languedoc region of France. Great experience. Steve an Julia move heaven and earth to ensure all clients maximise their Veloroo experience. Steve and Julia have an excellent level of local knowledge and ensure rides are suited to the clients. They have been doing this gig for some time so have built a list of cafes and restaurants that truly highlight the attraction of the region. Even for the two non-riders of our family they still feel this was the highlight of our 6 week european holiday. You won't be disappointed .

Took South of France Cycling Tour in July 2016

What an experience! We were recommended Steve and Julia by a colleague. Met them in Brisbane while they were there. Felt comfortable and in the hands of professionals. Arrived in France and expectations were exceeded many fold. Steve's easy going professionalism as the front man and cycling leader were more than matched by Julia's eye for detail and behind-the-scenes organisation that kept our large on track and ahead of the game. An experience I and my non-cycling partner, Claire, will never forget. Cycling experience was awesome in terms of countryside, climbs, descends and views but eating, drinking and social experience just as awesome for all. 10/10 to the VeloRoo team.

Took South of France Cycling Tour in July 2016

VeloRoo delivers the best of both worlds! I thoroughly enjoyed my time riding and touring France with the VeloRoo team! We had opportunities to ride some magical climbs such as Mont Ventoux. The bonus though was the wonderful mix of people I got to meet and have laughs with, across all levels of cycling ability, including non-riders. I highly recommend Steve and Julia to give you memories to last a lifetime. They certainly live up to their mantra of "Live, Laugh, Ride".

Took South of France Cycling Tour in July 2016

For us, the tour was a perfect balance of challenging cycling in spectacular scenery and enjoying the local sights, delicious food and wine. Steve and Julia went 'above-and -beyond' to tailor the tour to the needs and interests of our group which included spending an extra day before the tour to ride around their home village of St Genies de Fontedit. Steve was a friendly, hospitable and enthusiastic cycling guide and Julia was superbly reliable and organised - always in the right place at the right time in the support van with refreshments, extra jackets (or a lift home).
We would highly recommend VeloRoo for a cycling holiday!

Took Iconic Climbs Pyrénées Challenge in June 2017

'Cranky Julie' was in show-room condition (that's the super light bike). Perfectly maintained and cleaned everyday.
Daily itinerary was spot on, adjusted as required to suit weather and rider ability.
Its not a cycling holiday without friendly hosts, good food and superb wine. We had all this!
Can't wait for my next trip with these guys...

Took Iconic Climbs Pyrénées Challenge in June 2017

Peaceful, Quiet, and Beautiful Languedoc Region. It is hard to put into words just how much we enjoyed our ride with Steve and Julia. We contacted them after visiting their website, and arranged a custom cycling tour. Steve was happy to organize three days of riding that met our skills and interests through the amazing hills and parks in the area. We did longer rides each day (95, 125, and 85 kms) that allowed us to explore the region and really get an authentic experience. We were extremely happy with the rental bikes and appreciated their smooth ride, light weight, and excellent maintenance. Steve and Julia really made us feel comfortable and made our whole experience one that we will never forget. Just an outstanding experience that we would recommend. Next time we bike in France, Veloroo will be our first call!

Took Customised Cycling Tours in June 2018

Wonderful morning ride. Veloroo were very helpful from the offset suggesting different possibilities and how to get to them. Getting on the bus this morning to meet them wasn't sure what to expect but they didn't disappoint, equipment and knowledge of the area first class. The scenery was stunning and the ride distance and climbing judged to perfection for my ability. Steve even threw in some tips for improving my cycling. Will definitely be back again.

Took Guided Day Rides in France in June 2018

Riding with Steve as a tour guide made the difference. As a group of three MAMIL's, we booked two days of riding with Steve ... Having Steve as a tour guide significantly improved the whole experience from the distance covered, the speed, the hills, the countryside, the views and, of course, the cafes and restaurants!
Steve is a top bloke for both having a laugh and learning from so in conclusion; lots of exercise, lots of fun and a quality bike ..... hassle free and worth every penny.

Took Guided Day Rides in France in May 2017

Best Part of Our Trip. I am not a big reviewer of organizations, esp if they are not five stars. In this case, writing a favorable review may not just be a nice thing to do but mandatory. Any of you out there who enjoy riding, amiable company, and crazy beautiful French countryside need to cycle with Steve. While there were many things about our trip that were fantastic (it is France, after all), our half-day ride with VeloRoo made the top of the list of things to do -- and do again, I hope.

Took Guided Day Rides in France in Aug 2017

Exceptional - great service, great bikes, great ride. Steve and Julia were fantastic. Did two days of riding and couldn't fault the experience. Steve is obsessed with quality kit....bikes were superb. Will be back next year for more.

Took Guided Day Rides in France in Aug 2017

An escape on the bike within the escape of a family holiday - bliss. Had a lovely day out with the amicable Steve who knows both the beautiful terrain and (somehow) the ability of his riders. Heartily recommend it if you are in the area on holiday and want a little time on the road or even if you want to plan a holiday around it. Next time!

Took Guided Day Rides in France in Aug 2017

Gosh where to start. Super friendly couple, great equipment, excellent service and really well priced. If you're in their part of the world and need to hire a bike, you simply have to use them. They delivered on time, were so friendly and helpful, full of recommendations and obviously know their stuff. I had a 3 day bike hire but in fact they delivered the bike on the afternoon before, allowing me to squeeze in a bonus ride effectively. The bike was top quality, I'm used to riding full carbon with Di2 but the alu frame with 105 set up was more than enough and rode beautifully. I really pushed it over the 4 rides (miles and clombing) and it was more than a match for the terrain. This is my 6th solo bike hire abroad in 18 months and this was right up there with the best. In fact I would even consider going back as I enjoyed it so much. Seriously you won't go wrong if you use this company.

Took Bike Hire in France in April 2018

This was my first time to leave my bike at home and rent a bike in France. It was a great decision as VeloRoo provided an excellent service and an excellent bike. The gears were just right for getting up some stiff climbs in the foothills of the Massif Central. The bike was delivered to where I was staying, my pedals put on and the saddle adjusted to the right height. It was then collected at the end. Everything worked well and I will certainly hire a bike again from VeloRoo if I am back in this area.

Took Bike Hire in France in June 2018

Steve and Julia were great and everything went like clock work. These people know their stuff and it is so refreshing to find a business like this. I took my own peddles and saddle, which were fitted for me. The Canondale Caad 12 that I hired was a joy to ride.

I would certainly hire again and wold simply say to anyone considering Velorooo to go for it!

Took Bike Hire in France in August 2018

A fifth return trip to VeloRoo - newer, immaculate bike and friendly service again. Would recommend to anyone considering....

Took Bike Hire in France in Sept 2018

Great time, great bikes, great weather. Avoided the worry of bikes on a plane and had excellent bikes. The caad 12 canondales are really fun and comfortable to ride. All delivered to our door. Thanks for the excellent service. The area is a wonderful place to ride - with such different yet spectacular routes depending on which way you head out. Would highly recommend to anyone - especially the lunch stops!

Took Bike Hire in France in May 2017

We've hired cycles around the South of France for the last 5 years for our long cycling weekend in September. Veloroo were by far the best company we've come across.
Their cycles are first class and extremely well maintained, they deliver and collect for a reasonable fee, they are really knowledgeable in the area and above all Julia and Steve are really nice people.
You wont find better!

Took Bike Hire in France in Sep 2017

Bike hire par excellence. Steve and Julia do a remarkable job. From the very first inquiry throughout the whole month that I rode their bike it has been sensational - the beautiful environs, the impeccable service and care, the tour guiding which introduced me to one new area after the other coupled with super bike tips. This is the best bike hire experience I have ever had and have been doing this annually for seven years now. Vive la VeloRoo

Took Bike Hire in France in May 2017

Nice bike great service. Terrific experience renting a bike from Julia and Steve's fine business. They delivered the bike to me in perfect condition in Pézenas, were utterly accommodating to everything I needed, and made my holiday even more enjoyable. Wouldn't hesitate to work with them again!

Took Bike Hire in France in June 2017

I'm saying yes to VeloRoo taking my bike to TDU next year please!!! I saw about 20 bikes not make my flight yesterday evening leaving Adelaide... they all went back to the terminal too. Thanks again!

Took Santos Tour Down Under VeloRoo-ber Bike Transport in 2018

Stress Free Bike Transfer. Having travelled domestically with a bike on other occasions, I was looking for a safe and stress free way to get my bike to TDU. No more worrying about how an airline is going handle your bike, no removing bike parts and concerns you'll never have that right bike fit again. No more dragging your bike bag through airports and on bus transfers. Steve and Julia were a pleasure to book with. It really felt like you had trusted mates carefully transferring your bike. The small kit bag (for things like ride nutrition and other cycling essentials) they permitted on the transfer was handy to avoid the extra kgs on checked luggage. It was all too easy for me. Steve and Julia deliver a quality service and with the most friendliest manner.

Took Santos Tour Down Under VeloRoo-ber Bike Transport in 2017

Friendly and well organised Steve and Julia made the whole event hassle free and so enjoyable. My bike was transferred to and from Brisbane to Adelaide and returned hassle free.

Took Santos Tour Down Under VeloRoo-ber Bike Transport in 2017

Live. Laugh. Ride.